CRAYON 4: Bring a "Kids" Lunch Box to work

22 10 2009

So I work with all different kinds of creative people, and one thing that makes me smile on the way into work is what many people carry into work. What they carry says as much about the person as it does about my group I work with. The item I am referring to would be the lunch pails and boxes in all shapes, sizes and materials. I have seen them in plastic and cloth, and even the wonderful Thermos brand that are  all plastic with a matching a thermos. There are designer lunch boxes and even state of the art lunch boxes.


These aren’t just containers holding a meal to tie one over until dinner. No these metal and plastic rectangles are badges of youthful honor. The majority of the art on the lunch boxes are what some might call “childish.” These are not childish they are brilliant.  It is incredibly satisfying to see a guy who is 42, with a wife and kids walk into the front door with a Superman tin lunch pale. Anyone who says “thats childish” I truly feel sorry for them. Walt Disney said it best…

“Why do we have to grow up? I know more adults who have the children’s approach to life. They’re people who don’t give a hang what the Joneses do. They are not afraid to be delighted with simple pleasures, and they have a degree of contentment with what life has brought – sometimes it isn’t much, either.” – Walt Disney

My current lunch box model is a plastic Thermos with Duck Tales on it (pictured below). Unfortunately it has broken latches so I am on the hunt for a new one. Go and check out ilovethe80s or some other web searches to find a lunch box that brings you back to your youth, or just puts a smile on your face. It could be an A-Team or My Little Pony box, could be Disney, The Lone Ranger, Magnum PI, The Beetles, or even a Partridge Family lunch box. Don’t even think for a moment what others might think. I guarantee they will be impressed, intrigued and want to find one for themselves…and if anything they will be jealous of your individuality. If not, I pity the FOOL!   

Enjoyed this post? Please help to spread the word by clicking the orange plus below to share the post, and please click word “comments” below to leave your comment.



Actions

Information

One response

26 10 2009
Anonymous

Ok this is all too true. I think I still have my care bears thermal and lunch box buried somewhere. I will be bringing it to work as my badge of youthful creative honor!

Leave a Reply

