CRAYON BOX 3: Dr. Seuss and His Unorthodox Taxidermy

17 10 2009
 
I went into a Pop Art gallery about a year ago and saw something that stopped me in my tracks. From ten feet away I was so pleased, happy, curious, and excited that the rest of my body had no idea what to do with itself. I could hardly move and a smirk grew over my face as I shook my head, thinking “he is a genius.” I heard a voice in my head say, “they are great aren’t they?” I had cause for concern, because the voice in my head was a woman’s. For a moment I thought I had finally gone crazy, until I realized it was one of the employees of the gallery standing behind me.


 
In front of me on the wall were 4 or 5 mounted creatures that were no doubt from the world of Dr. Suess. The employee and I began a discussion and she started to tell me about how Theodor Suess Gisel’s father use to be a superintendent of a Forrest Park Zoo. His father would bring home antlers, horns, shells, and bird beaks from deceased animals. These items ended up in boxes, then fell into the hands of Dr. Seuss many years later and he decided to use them to bring his imagination into a three dimensional world. He took these real antlers, horns, shells, and bird beaks and sculpted around them to create Dr Seuss’ School of Unorthodox Taxidermy.


 

His characters had names like “Two Horned Drouberhannis,” “Andulovian Grackler,” and “Semi-Normal Green-Lidded Fawn.” Shortly after Seuss created this unique collection of artworks, Look Magazine dubbed Seuss “The World’s Most Eminent Authority on Unheard-Of Animals.” To this day, Seuss’s Unorthodox Collection of Taxidermy remains as some of the finest examples of his inventive and multi-dimensional creativity. (drseussart.com)

Dr. Seuss had the ability to take his mind somewhere else. He could look at something as simple as a beak and allow his mind to flow to places many wish they could visit. His biggest playground and vacations must have been the ones he took by simply shutting his eyes or daydreaming. Needless to say I have always loved Dr. Seuss, his stories, illustrations, and hidden messages. He was one amazing man that understood the power of pairing imaginative creativity with storytelling. A pairing as good as a couple of sunny side up green eggs and a side of ham.

Enjoyed this post? Please help to spread the word by clicking the orange plus below to share the post, and please click word “comments” below to leave your comment.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

